Viome Reviews

1,038  Average
TrustScore 3 out of 5

3.0

In the Fitness and Nutrition Service category

Write a review

Company activitySee all

Reviews  1,038



Rated 2 out of 5 stars

The testing was very well explained

The testing was very well explained. The timeliness of the report was overdue by 3 weeks. The Scores report showed no details of relativity to normal or best level so the status was of little value. The recommendations indicate a very boring diet and no detail of true benefit from using super foods or enjoy foods. It feels that the results are designed solely to get me to buy your products at a further expense with no real idea how I will beneift from using them.

Our 2022 Transparency Report has landed

Take a look

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I bought into the Viome advertising and…

I bought into the Viome advertising and expected something specific to my health, my situation. I did not get that. I got a lot of "BUY OUR PRODUCT" from VIOME. Maybe, I missed something along the way. Maybe I missed my report about my submission. So, I wrote to support several times using the support email address, using the chat, and replying using the unique links provided in Viome email. You'd think that I would get a meaningful response using so many different methods. Nothing meaningful yet. The best I got so far are autobot responses and "can you confirm your order number?" To that question, I say, you have my email address associated with my order number. I am positive you can find out my "order information" using my email address. But, did you? No. So, I am here writing this, because you asked me to provide feedback on my VIOME experience.


Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Viome needs better communication

Viome is a great idea, but more communication is needed. I got this survey but haven’t got my results. As a former scientist I have no problem waiting for my results. I’m not in a hurry, but there is some information I think Viome science needs to have in order to make precise statements about one's individual biome. Nowhere on the page can I find how to let them know I'm vegan, not vegetarian. There is a huge difference in not eating meat and dairy and not eating red meat.


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Save your money. CASH GRAB HOAX. to sell supplements

Gave me a whole ton of foods not to eat with a very generic explanation. When I google this explanation nothing comes up. Whole thing feels super hokey and a push to sell their supplements.

They recomend I take 44 of their supplements and 8 probiotics a day. Some of which severly contradict with my current medications. There is no option to see most important things missing etc.
Feels like a cash grab and I gained no understanding at all as everything is so vague.
Also foods that I have clearly developed intolerances for that give me severe pain after eating were listed as my superfoods. Really wish I wouldn't have forked out the cash for this.


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Feels like I wasted money

I never recieved and email saying the results were ready. I wanted to know if I was celiac or lactose intolerant. Instead I got a long list of fruits and vegetables, meats that I should stay away from. I'm not sure I even trust these results.


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Annoyed that I had to call multiple…

Annoyed that I had to call multiple times to ask one simple question, but the representative did not understand. I asked for super visor and they never called me back...so your costumer service sucks! Also it takes waaaaaaay too long to receive the supplements.
I also think that it's deceiving how you sell the different tests...not clear at all.

Reply from Viome

We apologize for the inconvenience you've encountered. We're always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Normally, it would take for the supplements to be fulfilled within 13-19 days which includes the timeframe to create and deliver the order. We want to learn more from you and work this out! Feel free to reach out to us via chat (https://support.viome.com/s/), email (support@viome.com), or phone (1-855-95-84663) for further assistance.


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

never heard from you after sent in my…

never heard from you after sent in my samples

Reply from Viome

We appreciate your feedback. Normally, it takes about 2-3 weeks to process a sample through quality control testing, sequencing, and analysis alone. Once your results and recommendations are released or if ever the test failed, you will be notified via email. We want to check and investigate what happened. You can reach out to us via chat (https://support.viome.com/s/), email (support@viome.com), or phone (1-855-95-84663) for further assistance.


Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Fun to explore, but too vague to be useful

I was very curious about what the Viome test would tell me regarding nutrition and food. The main missing ingredients in the results are “Why” and “how this is specific to me.” There is some background provided for “superfoods” but it feels generic. And there is little to no explanation of the rationale for “avoid” foods. For instance, the results indicated presence of viruses related to tomatoes and garlic. The recommendation is I avoid those foods. Is that forever? I had to really dig to find out why almonds, which I used to eat a ton of, would be classified as an “avoid” but not cashews. The overall gut health explanation is too vague. I made a few changes based on the superfood/avoid recommendations, but overall I’d say kind of fun and interesting, but disappointing and mainly a way to try to sell you ridiculously priced probiotics and supplements.

Reply from Viome

We appreciate your feedback as we're always looking for ways to improve our customer experience and explain your results as clearly and simply as possible. Each score we provide is made up of its own supporting scores with explanations along with other health markers and pathways. They are also provided with reference links supporting the studies and research about them. Also, your recommendations are only meant to be followed within 4-6 months and retesting is advised to see changes on your food recommendations based on what your microbiome currently needs. The only goal of listing your foods in to categories is to encourage you to eat a diversity of foods, and not overdo it with any foods that may not be beneficial to your microbiome. Feel free to check https://www.viome.com/blog/understanding-your-viome-scores for more information and reach out to us via chat (https://support.viome.com/s/), email (support@viome.com), or phone (1-855-95-84663) for further assistance with your results and recommendations.


Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Very insightful

I've been taking the supplements for almost 2 weeks. I eat primarily the food that has been been recommended for me. And so far so good


Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Gettign healthy is a process

I am very happy I received and participated in the Viome test. I am now more conscious of the foods that are helpful to a healthier gut and the ones I should really limit my exposure to. I personally wish I had more understanding of the gut bacteria and virus in my intestines, but that is on me. Viome has certainly helped my situation.I highly recommend using Viome.


Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Not a good use of healthcare dollars

I give two stars for promptness in notifying me that the sample was received and in sending results. Other than that, I feel as if I've wasted my money. The results are extremely vague and seem only to be a basis for selling me expensive supplements. There is no concrete information.

Reply from Viome

Hi Cythia! Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to empower you with the tools to maximize your personal wellness. We provide you with food and supplement recommendations to optimize the environment in your microbiome. While your diet is an essential component and key factor in your gut health, we fully recommend the inclusion of these supplements as they are designed to work with the food recommendations, and supply beneficial nutrients, which you may not sufficiently derive from food consumption alone. Other than the Precision Supplements ingredients, you will also receive your third party supplements, which you'll see when you generate a PDF copy of your results and recommendations. If you have any questions or concern, please feel free to reach out to our customer support either through chat (https://support.viome.com/s/), email (support@viome.com) and phone call (1-855-95-84663).


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Very Disappointing

This report was really disappointing. The main thing is that you EXCLUDED things I told you I was sensitive to, WHY? I haven't been tested for those things in awhile and was looking for further confirmation that it was still an issue. Had you told me you were going to exclude tests for those things I would have lied and said I had no sensitivities. Also, there's nobody to help me interpret the meaning of your results. When you tell me a general statement that "red meat has been linked to cardiovascular issues" (thank you captain obvious) that doesn't tell me whether you're sharing general knowledge or if I actually have a sensitivity to it. Overall, was very disappointed in the product and feel I paid a lot for it.

Reply from Viome

We're sorry to hear our service did not meet your satisfaction. Your food recommendations go back to the active components and pathways in your gut microbiome combined with the information you report in the questionnaires. Since we do not currently test for food sensitivities or incorporate known allergies when providing food recommendations, the foods that you reported as sensitive in your questionnaires will be classified as minimize or avoid foods. Stool samples do not contain the necessary immune markers needed to pinpoint specific food allergies or sensitivities. In other words, our stool testing does not detect your immune reaction to foods. If you need more clarifications regarding your results, feel free to reach us through email (support@viome.com), and phone call (1-855-95-84663).


Rated 2 out of 5 stars

There was not enough packs to last…

There was not enough packs to last until the next order. Looks like a week short. More so for the sticks. They ran out last week.

Reply from Viome

Thank you for bringing this to our attention Don! We'd be glad to further check on this and for you not to run out of supply, we can move your next order date soonest time possible so your next order will be manufactured earlier. If you could, please reach us through email (support@viome.com), or phone call (1-855-95-84663) for immediate assistance.


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I need help!

I need help!
I never got my results back, there may have been an error so I ordered a second kit and now I can’t register it with same info

Reply from Viome

Apologies for any inconvenience Cindy! We'll be glad to further assist you on this matter. Please feel free to call us at 1-855-95-84663 for immediate assistance.


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The lancets were defective so I…

The lancets were defective so I couldn’t draw any blood on the tippet. I had to throw everything out. Total waste of money

Reply from Viome

Hi Natalie, we're sorry to hear you received a damaged kit. For cases like this, we normally send additional materials for the sample collection or replace the kit at no cost. If you could, please do reach us through email (support@viome.com), and phone call (1-855-95-84663) to further assist you on this. Hope to connect with you!


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Not impressed

Not impressed. My nutritional recommendations are consistent with the SAD government guidelines. That is exactly the diet that made me sick and fat. I would say your "science" is corrupt and disappointing. I regret participating.

Reply from Viome

We're sorry to hear our service did not meet your satisfaction! Our test is not a sensitivity test, your food recommendations may have a food you have a known sensitivity to on your “enjoy” list, only because your gut microbiome could benefit from its components but always avoid foods that you know you are allergic to no matter which list they appear on. The key to following your Viome plan is to understand the relative food categories in the recommendations, regardless of the serving size, and focusing on Superfoods then enjoy, and minimize. If you have additional concerns, you may reach us through email (support@viome.com), and phone call (1-855-95-84663) for immediate assistance.